Softball's Megan Hyson Selected to BIG EAST Honor Roll

GUHOYAS.COM Megan Hyson.
GUHOYAS.COM
Megan Hyson.
GUHOYAS.COM

Feb. 24, 2014

WASHINGTON - Georgetown University softball's Megan Hyson (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake) was named to the BIG EAST Honor Roll on Monday. The news came via a BIG EAST press release.

Hyson, a junior, went 4-for-10 over four games for the Hoyas at the 2014 Gamecock Invitational hosted by the University of South Carolina in Columbia, S.C. The junior recorded four runs batted in and three of her hits went for extra bases. Hyson also drew four walks and scored once.

Hyson recorded a three-RBI triple in the fourth inning to help the Hoyas defeat the UNC-Wilmington Seahawks, 8-3, on Saturday. She also started in the win, throwing a complete game, seven-inning effort where she only allowed one earned run.

The junior also tallied two doubles over the weekend.

In her two starts in the circle at the Gamecock Invitational, Hyson threw 13.0 innings for Georgetown, while only giving up three earned runs and recording eight strikeouts.

On the season, the junior boasts a 2.77 earned run average across 30.1 innings for the Hoyas. At the plate, she is hitting .273 in 22 at bats with six hits including three doubles and one triple. Her 11 total bases lead the team as well as her .500 slugging percentage and her .484 on-base percentage.

Georgetown went 1-3 at the Gamecock Invitational.

The Blue & Gray travel to Charlotte, N.C. for a Fri., Feb 28 to Sun., March 2 tournament. Georgetown opens the 49er Invite, hosted by the Charlotte 49ers, against Liberty at 10 a.m. on Friday. The Hoyas defeated Liberty in their season-opener, 4-3.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at St. John's 12:00 PM GameTracker
Softball at St. John's 2:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at St. John's 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Apr 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Towson 3:30 PM
Softball at Towson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball DePaul 12:00 PM GameTracker
Softball DePaul 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball DePaul 11:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Butler 12:00 PM
Softball at Butler 2:00 PM
Sunday, Apr 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Butler 12:00 PM
Tuesday, Apr 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at George Washington 3:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball Providence 12:00 PM GameTracker
Softball Providence 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball Providence 11:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, May 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Seton Hall 12:00 PM
Softball at Seton Hall 2:00 PM
Sunday, May 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Seton Hall 12:00 PM
Friday, May 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs BIG EAST Championship TBA
Saturday, May 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs BIG EAST Championship TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas