Hyson Named BIG EAST Softball Pitcher of the Week

GUHOYAS.COM Hyson.
GUHOYAS.COM
Hyson.
GUHOYAS.COM

March 3, 2014

WASHINGTON – Megan Hyson (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake), a junior on Georgetown’s softball team, was named the BIG EAST Pitcher of the Week for her play at the 49er Invitational where the Hoyas went 4-1. Hyson threw a no-hitter on Saturday and earned the win on Sunday in the championship game over the Charlotte 49ers, 10-0. The news came via a BIG EAST press release.

This is Hyson’s second BIG EAST award of the season. Last week, she was named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll.

Hyson went 3-0 with three shutouts this past weekend at the Invite. In the circle, the weekend was highlighted by a no-hitter thrown by Hyson against the Stony Brook Seawolves in a 6-0 win on Saturday night. Hyson’s other shutouts were both two-hitters. The junior pitched 19.0 innings in her three starts, recording 16 strikeouts with only four walks and four hits surrendered. She was named the Most Valuable Pitcher of the tournament for her performances.

The junior lowered her season earned run average to 1.70 with the three shutouts. Across 49.1 innings in eight appearances, Hyson has struck out 38 while holding her opponents to a .168 batting average.

With the postponement of the Tues., March 4 Georgetown softball home opener, the Blue & Gray will now travel to Northridge, Calif. and Los Angeles, Calif. for games scheduled to be played from Fri., March 7 until Sun., March 9. Friday and Saturday will feature games in Northridge, Calif. with the Hoyas facing Grand Canyon University, Oregon State and Cal State Northridge. GU will play UNLV and UCLA in Los Angeles on Sunday.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Towson L, 3-1 Live Stats
Softball vs IPFW W, 13-6 Live Stats
Saturday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Towson L, 11-4 Live Stats
Softball at Charleston Southern Cancelled Live Stats
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Penn State 9:00 AM
Softball vs Pittsburgh 11:30 AM
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Pittsburgh 9:00 AM
Softball vs Radford 2:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at Jacksonville 2:00 PM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs IUPUI 12:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Fairfield 10:00 AM
Softball vs IUPUI 1:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball at North Carolina 3:30 PM
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Monmouth N.J. 12:00 PM GameTracker
Softball vs Maryland 2:30 PM
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Robert Morris 1:30 PM
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Columbia 1:30 PM
Friday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs Ohio State 2:30 PM
Softball at Arizona State 10:15 PM
Saturday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Softball vs James Madison 5:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live