Women's Tennis Splits at VCU 4+1

Kelly Comolli

Jan. 21, 2013

Final Stats

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University women's tennis team went 1-1 at the VCU 4+1 on Friday in Richmond, Va., at Virginia Commonwealth University. The Hoyas defeated Campbell University, 3-2, but fell to the host Rams by a 4-0 decision. It marked the first competition of the spring schedule for the Blue & Gray.

In the win over Campbell, the doubles pair of junior Kelly Comolli (Newburyport, Mass./Philips Exeter Academy) and freshman Taylor Perz (Gibsonia, Pa./Pine-Richland) did their part defeating their opponents 6-3, 1-6, 6-1. Sophomore Sophie Panarese (Milton, Mass./Milton Academy) downed Anne Marie Ortiz by a score of 6-2, 6-1 at the No. 3 position, while No. 2 junior Madeline Jaeger (Laguna Beach, Calif./Laguna Beach) clinched the match in a battle coming out with the 6-2, 4-6, 7-6 (4) decision after seven match points.

In the loss to VCU, Panarese was the lone Hoya to win a set defeating her opponent, 7-6, at No. 3 before the match was decided.

Georgetown will be back in action on Friday, February 1 at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pa. The Hoyas will face the University of Pittsburgh the following day.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Sept 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Towson 4+1 Invitational All Day
Saturday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Towson 4+1 Invitational All Day
Sunday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Towson 4+1 Invitational All Day
Friday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs College Park Invitational All Day
Saturday, Sept 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs College Park Invitational All Day
Sunday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs College Park Invitational All Day
Thursday, Sept 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Colorado Invitational All Day
Friday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Colorado Invitational All Day
Saturday, Sept 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Colorado Invitational All Day
Sunday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Colorado Invitational All Day
Thursday, Oct 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs ITA Regionals All Day
Friday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs ITA Regionals All Day
Saturday, Oct 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs ITA Regionals All Day
Sunday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs ITA Regionals All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live