No. 5 Georgetown Falls to No. 4 DePaul in BIG EAST Tournament

GUHOYAS.COM Lauren Greco
GUHOYAS.COM
Lauren Greco
GUHOYAS.COM

April 21, 2012

Final Stats

WASHINGTON - The fifth-seeded Georgetown University women's tennis team (16-6) dropped a tough 4-3 decision to the No. 4 DePaul University Blue Demons in the quarterfinals of the BIG EAST Tournament in Tampa, Fla., on Friday afternoon. The Blue & Gray tied it at three in singles play, but couldn't pull out the victory.

In doubles play, the lone victory came from sophomore Tina Tehrani and junior Vicky Sekely at No. 2. The pair defeated their opponents, 8-2, but the Blue Demons managed to pick up the point.

The excitement came in singles play as the Blue & Gray battled back to tie the match at three. Sekely started it out with a 6-2, 6-3 win at No. 3 before a pair of DePaul wins made the score 3-1.

Tehrani managed the victory over Patricia Fargas at No. 2 with the 6-2, 6-3 win and freshman Sophie Panarese tied it with a 1-6, 6-3, 6-1 three-set decision at No. 6 over Rebecca Mitrea.

With one match remaining, senior Lauren Greco was unable to pull off the upset against No. 106 Jasmin Kling at No. 1 dropping a 6-3, 3-6, 6-2 decision.

Due to inclement weather, Saturday's schedule has shifted. The Hoyas will now face No. 7 Marquette University in a consolation match on the Varsity Courts at noon.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at University of Chicago TBA
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at DePaul 3:00 PM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis St. John's 11:00 AM
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at Point Loma Nazarene 5:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at UC San Diego 3:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at Loyola Marymount 4:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at UC Irvine 4:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Xavier TBA
Thursday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Seton Hall 12:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Saint Francis (PA) TBA
Sunday, Apr 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at George Washington 2:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at UMBC TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live