Saperstein Named All-BIG EAST in Women's Tennis

GUHOYAS.COM Saperstein.
GUHOYAS.COM
Saperstein.
GUHOYAS.COM

May 8, 2014

WASHINGTON - Freshman women's tennis player Victoire Saperstein (Las Vegas, Nev./Odyssey Charter School) was named All-BIG EAST on Thursday morning by the conference office. She became the third player and the first freshman to earn All-BIG EAST honors under Georgetown Head Coach Gordie Ernst.

She was one of two freshman to earn the honor this year; 12 women overall were named All-BIG EAST representing six different schools.

Saperstein went 11-8 in singles matches including a mark of 8-6 at No. 1 singles. She went 4-3 in BIG EAST matches.

The freshman started out the season playing No. 5 and 6 singles matches and took over the No. 1 spot on February 22 against Montana State. The switch coincided with the Hoyas six-match winning streak starting with Montana State and continuing through a conference sweep over Providence on March 22. During that time, Saperstein went 3-3 from the No. 1 single position.

Saperstein went 10-4 in doubles including an 8-2 record with partner Liselot Koenen (St. Charles, Ill./St Charles North).  Saperstein and Koenen won both of their doubles match from the No. 1 position at the BIG EAST Championship.

The Hoyas dropped their opening round draw at the BIG EAST Championship in late April to St. John's before defeating Villanova in a backdraw victory on Saturday, April 26. Saperstein won both of her singles matches at the championship.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Feb 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis vs Towson W, 5-2
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at University of Chicago TBA
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at DePaul 3:00 PM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis St. John's 11:00 AM
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at Point Loma Nazarene 5:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at UC San Diego 3:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at Loyola Marymount 4:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at UC Irvine 4:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Xavier TBA
Thursday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Seton Hall 12:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis Saint Francis (PA) TBA
Sunday, Apr 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Tennis at George Washington 2:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live