Women's Track
Hoyas Travel to Terre Haute for NCAA Cross Country Championships; Championships to be Televised in HD on VERSUS

Nov. 22, 2009

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University cross country team gears up for the NCAA Championships on Monday, November 23, held in Terre Haute, Ind., and hosted by Indiana State University. For the first time ever, the championships will be televised in High Definition as the VERSUS network will air the championships live. Additionally, the NCAA will be streaming the event live on www.NCAA.com. The men's race will begin at approximately noon with the women's race to follow.

The men, tabbed 14th nationally by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, go into Monday's meet with its sixth-straight Mid-Atlantic Regional title under its belt. Additionally, graduate student and five-time All-American Andrew Bumbalough (Brentwood, Tenn./Brentwood Academy) was named the Regional Athlete of the Year for the second-straight season while Director of Track & Field / Cross Country Patrick Henner was named the Regional Coach of the Year for the second-consecutive year. Bumbalough became the first Hoya to ever win back-to-back Mid-Atlantic Regional Championships as he timed in at 31:41.6 in the 10,000-meter race.

The women, ranked 15th in the nation by USTFCCCA, will look to sophomore and two-time All-American Emily Infeld (University Heights, Ohio/Beaumont) to continue to lead the team. She finished third in the individual race at the Mid-Atlantic Regional, a race that boasted a talented field as four teams from the Mid-Atlantic Region are ranked in the top 11 (Villanova - 2; Princeton - 3; West Virginia - 7; Penn State - 11).

The championships will be held at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center and will be hosted by Indiana State University for the sixth-straight year. The Hoyas will be competing in 50-plus degree weather with the skies partly cloudy and a 20 percent chance of precipitation.



At last year's event, both teams were able to finish in the top 10 as the women finished ninth and the men placed 10th. The University of Oregon is the two-time defending men's team champion while the University of Washington will defend its title on the women's side.
Tickets Facebook Twitter Google + Instagram YouTube Star Shop