» «
Field Hockey, Volleyball Earn BIG EAST Team Excellence Awards

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM
Aug. 4, 2014

WASHINGTON – The Georgetown University field hockey and volleyball programs were among 22 BIG EAST Conference teams that were recognized with 2013-14 Team Academic Excellence Awards on Thursday. The award is given to the team with the highest collective grade-point average in each conference sport.

Nine conference institutions were recognized and Georgetown was among the seven with more than one team honoree.

This is the third distinction in the past four years for the field hockey squad. The Hoyas had 18 student-athletes named to the 2013-14 BIG EAST All-Academic Team last week and 16 student-athletes were also selected to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division I National Academic Squad in March.

The volleyball team earned a Team Academic Excellence Award for the second-consecutive year. The squad had 13 student-athletes named to last week’s BIG EAST All-Academic Team.

The winners were chosen based on the 2013-14 grade-point average of each student-athlete who appeared on an institution’s roster as of the last contest of the championship segment in each conference-sponsored sport.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Robert Morris 10:30 AM Livestats
Women's Volleyball at Fordham 7:00 PM Livestats
Saturday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Niagara 10:30 AM Livestats
Tuesday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Morgan State 7:00 PM
Thursday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Kent State 5:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Georgia 3:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball George Washington 7:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs North Carolina Central 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at James Madison 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Norfolk State 12:30 PM
Friday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 2:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Oct 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Providence 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Saturday, Oct 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 5:00 PM
Tuesday, Oct 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 8:00 PM
Friday, Oct 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Marquette 7:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Depaul 2:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 3:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Butler 6:00 PM
Friday, Oct 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball St. John's 8:00 PM GameTracker
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas