Alex Johnson Named MVP of DC Challenge

Alex Johnson had 25 kills over two matches to earn DC Challenge MVP honors.

Aug. 26, 2012

WASHINGTON - Sophomore outside hitter Alex Johnson was named the most valuable of the DC Challenge, after leading the Georgetown University volleyball team to a 2-0 record with wins over American and George Mason. Brooke Bachesta, Haley Lowrance and Lindsay Wise also made the all-tournament team.

Johnson led the Hoyas with 25 kills in two matches, while hitting .278 and contributing 17 digs. She had a team-high 19 kills and 12 digs in the Hoyas opening round victory over American to help set the tone for her tournament.

Junior setter Haley Lowrance had a strong opening weekend in her first opportunity to run the Hoyas offense. In two matches, Lowrance had 58 assists, while contributing 20 digs. Junior Brooke Bachesta had seven kills in two matches and five blocks, while senior middle blocker Lindsay Wise had 17 kills and five blocks during the tournament. Wise hit .667 with 14 kills to defeat George Mason on Saturday.

The quartet of Hoyas is joined on the DC Challenge All-Tournament team by Danielle Cook of George Mason and Allison Cappellino and Kylann Scheidt of American.

The Hoyas return to the court next weekend when they travel to Williamsburg, Va. to take part in the William & Mary Tournament. The Hoyas open with Campbell on Friday, before taking on Manhattan and the host Tribe on Saturday, September 1.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Marquette 8:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Oct 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Depaul 7:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Friday, Oct 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Providence 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Creighton 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Butler 6:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Villanova 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Depaul 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Marquette 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Nov 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM
Saturday, Nov 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 5:00 PM
Saturday, Nov 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Butler 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Nov 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Nov 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 8:00 PM BEDN
Sunday, Nov 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Providence 1:00 PM
Friday, Nov 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs TBD TBA
Saturday, Nov 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs TBD TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live