Hoyas Take on Liberty in Home Opener

GUHOYAS.COM The Hoyas are 6-6 heading into their final match before BIG EAST play
GUHOYAS.COM
The Hoyas are 6-6 heading into their final match before BIG EAST play
GUHOYAS.COM

Sept. 17, 2012

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University volleyball team (6-6) will play its first home match of the season Tuesday, Sept. 18 at 7 p.m. at McDonough Arena against the Flames of Liberty University (8-4).

The Hoyas are coming off of a disappointing weekend where they went 0-3 at the Holiday Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant Tournament. GU lost to College of Charleston Friday, then Michigan State and Presbyterian on Saturday.

Freshman Lauren Saar (Plainwell, Mich.) was named to the All-Tournament team for her solid performances, including a 10 kill, 19 dig outing at College of Charleston to begin the tournament.

Alex Johnson (Tampa, Fla.) also played well this weekend, setting career-highs of 26 kills and 23 digs in the College of Charleston match.

The Hoyas last met the Flames in a 2007 match at the Virginia Commonwealth Thanksgiving Day Classic, where they lost 3-1.

The Flames played in the Marriot Cavalier Classic at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Va. Saturday. There, they lost 3-1 to Virginia Tech and Virginia 3-2.

Redshirt freshman Caroline Douglas leads the Flames in kills, while Sophomore Gabrielle Shipe is their digs leader.

The Blue & Gray return to action Friday, Sept. 21 when they will travel New York, N.Y. to open BIG EAST conference play against St. John's.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Cleveland State 4:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Colgate 10:30 AM
Women's Volleyball at Penn 7:30 PM
Tuesday, Sept 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Liberty 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Hampton University 6:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Presbyterian 10:00 AM
Tuesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at George Washington 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs UCLA 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Cal State Fullerton 3:30 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Yale 7:00 PM
Tuesday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Creighton 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Xavier 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Butler 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Marquette 8:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Depaul 8:00 PM
Friday, Oct 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Villanova 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Providence 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball St. John's 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Depaul 8:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas