Hoyas to Host Villanova in Volleyball

GUHOYAS.COM
Players Celebrate a Point

GUHOYAS.COM
Players Celebrate a Point
GUHOYAS.COM

Oct. 4, 2012

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University volleyball team prepares to host Villanova Saturday, Oct. 6 at McDonough Arena. The 6-11 Hoyas have started 0-4 in BIG EAST play, while the Wildcats (7-10, 2-2) have won two in a row.

The Blue & Gray's last outings were a pair of 3-1 losses to Seton Hall and Rutgers Friday, Sept. 28 and Sunday, Sept. 30. In both matches, the Hoyas displayed stretches of great volleyball, but lapses in play were eventually too much to overcome.

Sophomore libero MacKenzie Simpson had a great defensive effort against Seton Hall with 20 digs. Junior setter Haley Lowrance (Phoenix, Ariz./Sunnyslope) took the conference service aces lead with four against Rutgers. GU looks to get in the win column for the first time since a Sept. 8 sweep of Virginia.

The Wildcats are coming off a 2-0 weekend where they beat two BIG EAST opponents at home. They took down Rutgers 3-1 Friday then outlasted Seton Hall with a 3-2 victory Sunday to give the Pirates their first BIG EAST loss of the season and only their second overall.

The previous weekend, Villanova lost their two opening BIG EAST matches on the road against Connecticut and St. John's. The Wildcats swept GU in last season's meeting, and have won the last two.

Villanova's Emma Pettit received BIG EAST Freshman of the Week honors, recording double-doubles in a 2-0 week for the Wildcats. Mariah Henley ranks second in the BIG EAST with 6.22 digs per set.

The Hoyas are on the road next weekend for two BIG EAST matchups. They play at Pittsburgh Friday, Oct. 12 then travel to Tampa, Fla. to face the Bulls of USF Sunday, Oct. 14.

GU returns to McDonough Arena Friday, Oct. 19 where they will take on Notre Dame.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Nov 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 7:00 PM
Friday, Nov 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Butler 7:00 PM
Saturday, Nov 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 4:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Nov 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Nov 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Providence 5:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Nov 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 8:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Nov 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Villanova 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Nov 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Semifinals TBA
Saturday, Nov 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs Finals TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas