Wise Named to Capital One Academic All-District First Team

Nov. 16, 2012

WASHINGTON -Senior Lindsay Wise (Raleigh, N.C./Raleigh Central), captain of the Georgetown University volleyball team, has been named to the Capital One Academic All-District First Team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The biochemistry major and pre-med student maintains a 3.80 GPA. Wise is currently working on her senior thesis, which involves helping a Ph.D. candidate characterize and solve the crystal structures for several enzymes involved in the methylation of outer membrane proteins in Rickettsia Prowazekii, the bacteria that causes epidemic Typhus.

"Lindsay has worked hard during her time on the Hilltop both on the court and in the classroom" said Georgetown head coach Arlisa Williams. "I am thrilled for her that her academic accomplishments have been rewarded. It is a huge honor to be named to CoSIDA’s Capital One Academic All-District Team. Lindsay should be proud of her accomplishments."

Wise, a four-year starter for the Hoyas, finished her career Sunday in GU’s final match of the season against USF. At the middle blocker position, she finished the 2012 season with 168 kills and 68 blocks in 104 sets played.

There are eight districts in the voting. The voting is divided into categories for divisions I, II, and III, as well as a college division. Wise is joined in the District 2 Division I category by Katy Buck of Towson, Ashley Frazier of Kentucky, Lauren White of George Washington, American’s Rebecca Heath, and Elizabeth Gulick of West Virginia.

Voting for the national Capital One Academic All-American team is now under way. Results for the Division I Capital One Academic All-America Team will be announced Thursday, Dec. 13 at noon.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Sept 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Villanova W, 3-0
Tuesday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Marquette 8:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Oct 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Depaul 7:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Friday, Oct 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Providence 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Creighton 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 7:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Butler 6:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Villanova 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Depaul 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Marquette 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Nov 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM
Saturday, Nov 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 5:00 PM
Saturday, Nov 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Butler 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Nov 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Nov 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 8:00 PM BEDN
Sunday, Nov 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Providence 1:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live