Women's Cross Country Named NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year

Claire Richardson

Feb. 14, 2012


The Georgetown University women’s cross country team was named the NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year for the 2011 cross country season. Georgetown won its first NCAA National Championship this fall.

The honor announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Monday, recognizes teams who achieve All-Academic status and post top finishes at NCAA Championships. Claire Richardson (St. Paul, Minn./The Blake School), Emily Jones (Harvard, Mass./Bromfield), and Katrina Coogan (Exeter, N.H./Phillips Exeter Academy) were named All-Academic individual honorees last Thursday.

To qualify for the award, a team must have a team cumulative GPA of at least 3.00, and have at least five runners participating in its NCAA regional championship. The Hoyas have a cumulative team GPA of 3.28 through the end of 2011.

Head Women’s Cross Country Coach Chris Miltenberg was also named the Peter Tegen National Women's Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association after winning the women’s cross country NCAA Division I National Championship on November 22, 2011.



More Headlines
Individual Performances Highlight Cross Country Season... The Georgetown University cross country program traveled to State College, Pa... Georgetown Men’s Cross Country Tabbed Preseason No.... Georgetown University’s men’s cross country came in at No. 16 in ... Emily Infeld (B’12) Takes Sixth at IAAF World... Georgetown University track & field alum Emily Infeld (B’12) finished... Eighty-five Years Ago, Leo Sexton Won Gold at the 1932... It was 85 years ago to the day that Hoya track & field alum Leo Sexton won...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


September 22
All Day
Battle at Beantown
Boston, Mass.
September 29
All Day
Paul Short Run
Bethlehem, Pa.
October 13
All Day
Wisconsin Invitational
Madison, Wis.
October 28
All Day
BIG EAST Championships
Kenosha, Wis.
November 10
All Day
NCAA Mid-Atlantic Region Championships
Bethlehem, Pa.
November 18
All Day
NCAA Championships
Louisville, Ky.
November 18
All Day
ECAC Championships
New York, N.Y.